Communication coming from the car…

In the last 48 hours or so I’ve had roughly 5 hours of sleep (zzzz) travelled to London and Birmingham, back to London and then roamed around Essex for a bit, so that’s my excuse for this impromptu, thought-sharing post. So, in a daze of early morning thoughts I’m posing the question… Is it cool, or odd that I’m in a car heading down to Cornwall and I’m updating my blog?

More specifically, is it weird – or great – that this is possible?

In my eyes, it’s weird… Yet I’m sharing my thoughts, despite the freedom I now have to actually sleep, or ‘chill.’ I had one task left – to send off an email – I’ve done that, yet I’m buying into my spare, holiday (camping) time by quickly typing a few paragraphs into my phone.

The irony being that I’m looking forward to camping without electricity and being guilt-free of not reading emails instaneously. It’s a time for me to have a rest, a week to attempt surfing, eat Cornish pasties and read Lord of the Rings. Yet, I’m placing a bet on myself that I’ll seek out wifi or 3G to check emails, and the dreaded twilight zone Facebook, and Twitter constitutes.

In a wild act of contradiction though – social media is really cool. I admit that if I’m bored I can endlessly scroll through ‘newsfeeds’ or ‘timelines,’ but – social media can be used to make a difference. – be that promotion of an artist or company, or as a platform to increase awareness or reach people for fundraising and many many other purposes.

It just all seems a little futuristic, and crazy to me when I actually think about what I’m doing. Blogging is brilliant, it’s a space to express, elaborate and share information. It’s just strange that I’m blogging from a car… I have the ability to reach people globally, to begin conversations and to share thoughts with others from the comfort of my car on a motorway somewhere near the Westcountry.

It’s certainly strange, it’s cool and I’ve reached the point of tiredness where I think silly things like this, but give it a little ponder – do you spend too much time interacting with electronic devices, websites or just scrolling through Facebook?

Go outside and eat a Cornish Pasty or something kiddo.

Leave a comment